cablefamilycooks

My favorite family recipes

Buttercream Frosting February 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — cablefamilycooks @ 8:14 pm

Buttercream Frosting

2-lb. bag powdered sugar

3/4 c. Crisco

1 tsp. almond flavoring or white vanilla

1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. cream of tartar

2 drops of butter flavor

1/2 c. milk (plus more as you go)

Cream together the powdered sugar, Crisco, almond flavoring, salt, cream of tartar, butter flavoring, and milk.  Mix well.

Today Ryan and his co-workers had a bake sale to raise money for the local SPCA.  So before class yesterday I made chocolate cupcakes.  After I got back from class last night, I decided to try a new frosting recipe that I found on the internet.  For some reason, the frosting didn’t turn out like it looked in the pictures.  It slid all over the cupcakes and down the sides.  Eww.  I guess I shouldn’t have trusted a recipe that had less than 5 ingredients (vanilla, sugar, flour, milk).   After that batch of frosting was a no-go, I decided to go with my mom’s recipe for buttercream frosting (on page 130 in Cable Cookbook).  My mom and Aunt Deb made my wedding cake and used this recipe for the frosting. The cake looked and tasted amazing!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

